What are Supplementary Schemes?

A supplementary scheme means a voluntary scheme chosen by the member to compliment benefits of any mandatory scheme. The main aim of Supplementary Schemes are to cater for more different benefits, where people voluntarily save for retirement, working capital and insure themselves against events such as disability and loss of income and meet other social needs.

Schemes like this are normally run by employers, professional bodies, companies, trade unions, social security institutions, individuals, etc. An employer may establish a Supplementary Scheme for their employees known as an Occupational Scheme.

Section 31 ofthe Social Security (Regulatory Authority) Act, Cap 135 (R.E. 2015) provides that “Any person may, subject to the terms and conditions prescribed in the Regulations, establish a supplementary scheme whose membership shall be voluntary’. Currently registered Supplementary Schemes established by the Social Security Funds and employers includes;

  1. Puma Energy Tanzania Provident Fund
  2. Voluntary Savaings Retirement Scheme
  3. MSD Wekeza Supplementary Scheme
  4. Deposit Administration Scheme
  5. PSPF Supplementary Scheme
  6. ELCT Retirement Scheme
  7. Wote Scheme
  8. PPF Supplementary Scheme
  9. BOT Staff Benefits Scheme
  10. TANAPA Group Endowment Fund
  11. LAPF DC Scheme
  12. Tanzania Portland Cement Company Limited Staff Pension Scheme


Application forms for registration are available at SSRA offices and can also be downloaded from the SSRA website at www.ssra.go.tz

Hard copies of the forms are available from the Authority’s offices

Go to top